BFB (Before FaceBook)

A very old friend of mine (she’s not old, she’s been friends with me, for over 14years! Just to clear that up…) had her hen over the weekend. And one of her bridesmaids mailed me to look for old pictures, silly stories, the usual.

So I had a good root through all my photos that I have here in the apartment, and I found four. FOUR!!! I thought this was a bit pathetic considering how long we’ve been friends, ok we’ve drifted over the last few years, but I honestly thought there’d be more. Which got me thinking, we are friends from a time before digital cameras, before social media, from *whispers* before the internet. Wow I feel old saying that. If you wanted photos, you either had a proper camera with film that you loaded in, or a disposable camera. And you had to get the photos processed before you could see them!

I was always the one with the camera (still am!) for nights out, birthday parties etc, so I have many embarrassing amazing photos from pre 2004. So looking through these for the hen made me realise how crap we all looked!! Or was that just me?!? Especially the early teen years!! I mean, we had no clue, zero, about how to pose, how to do our hair, what to wear even! (the late teens and early twenties were slightly better, not much, but getting there!) And I’m glad.

I’ve worked a lot of nights in clubs and bars doing events, and I would see so many girls that would spend the night taking photos of themselves & giving out that their arms/tummy/hair/legs looked weird (they didn’t) or not enjoying themselves coz they might mess their hair or make up!! Screw that! Now, so many of my photos are now made up of myself & my friends being silly. Which is far more fun. Social media is amazing for keeping up to date with whats happening in the lives of friends and family. Especially in this day & age when so many people have had to move all over the world because of the economy. I know I relied on it while I was travelling Thailand & Australia. My point is, enjoy life, and make memories, you’ll be glad you did.

Til next time……

Tagged , , , ,

Leave a Reply

