Outfits doth make the lady.

So I had a lovely couple of days where I got to play with clothes. A very good friend had her leaving party on Friday night – another one bites the dust, she’s off to London for work, *wails*. So we all put our glad rags on & sent her off in style. I decided to go all out – partly because with the hardcore saving I’m doing at the moment I don’t get to go out to play as often as I’d like, mainly because I love an excuse to get completely glammed up!! Since we were all meeting in a really nice restaurant ( Bite – fantastic food, lethal cocktails! ) I went for a lady like look. I based my entire outfit around a pair of shoes. But not just any shoes. My gorgeous peep toe, bow detail shoes from LK Bennett that I mentioned in a previous blog. These beauties.

20120930-154751.jpg

What I teamed them with was a midi length pencil skirt from ASOS, and a lace shoulder detail top from Penneys (or Primark, depending on where you are). Both were made in a similar jersey so worked really well together (but either would work with a different material – have worn the skirt with silk tops before).

20120930-155028.jpg

20120930-155149.jpg

I kept the accessories very simple, wore the studded belt from Penneys (as before) to pull in my waist, the gorgeous chunky green bangle from Rebecca Davis (an independent jewellers in Dublin) to throw in some colour, & the quilted, chain strap bag from Penneys. Now the long straps are fantastic when you’re in a night club and don’t want to have to hold onto your bag, but for a situation like this where you’ll be at a table, I knot the chain strap so that its still long but not right under your arm either!

20120930-155242.jpg

Hair was kept down & straight, and I went to town with a dramatic smokey eye & neutral lips to finish it off.

I also got to go do some shopping with my Mum over the weekend, so I made a bit of effort as we were going to some very nice shops. What I wore was this great skater style dress from ASOS (as before), it has a low dip at the back to make it more interesting so I’ve worn it on plenty of nights out, funking it up with thick belts or coloured tights. As it was daytime & the dress is quite short I wore it with black tights, a grey cardigan (a basic one you’d get from New Look or Monsoon) & leopard print ballet pumps for a bit of colour.

20120930-155338.jpg

I also wore this statement necklace with the outfit for shopping. I wish I could tell you where to get one but my friend sent it for a birthday from Australia. It looks like it should be very heavy but its not which makes it so very easy to wear all day. It is quite possibly the easiest accessory to match with something. I have worn it with dresses, tank tops & jeans, t-shirts & blazers, and structured shirts. So versatile & that’s what you want in a piece like that.

20120930-155436.jpg

While we were shopping I picked up this skirt from Fran & Jane. I had to have it. It’s not my usual palette or greys, greens, blues or blacks, & that’s probably why I wanted it. It’s a very strong hot pink (much stronger than it looks in the picture), is in a midi length & will go with everything.

20120930-155544.jpg

Can’t wait to team it up with my white, loose fit cotton top, or a grey jumper with sequinned shoulders and a pair of classic pumps or peep toes like these ones!

20120930-155650.jpg

Aaaagh clothes get my blood going!!!

‘Til next time……

Tagged , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

