Birthday bonanza (not mine, *sigh*)

So I had two birthdays this week, first was my Poppa’s birthday, so we had a lovely low key dinner as we’re all going away over the bank holiday weekend to celebrate it properly. We went to a local restaurant McHugh’s Wine & Dine, so I didn’t want to get too dressed up, hate that feeling of being the over dressed person in the place!!! I kept it low key by just wearing my mint green blazer over a white loose fit v-neck tee, with jeans & heels.

The blazer & wooden beads are from Penneys, I bought the blazer at the start of the summer and the beads years ago, so they may not be available but the look would work with any coloured blazer and a different necklace – a knotted silver or gold one would be gorgeous too. The look the white tee is from H&M – it’s one of their basics so they should still be available in-store or online, or even from a different company.

20121021-152744.jpg

The jeans I wore are from A-Wear. They’re a really dark indigo skinny flare, so they’re lovely and fitted around the tush & hips, but flare out from the knees so they really balance me out & sit really nicely over a pair of high heels. And a darker colour is usually more flattering if like me you don’t have stick thin legs.

I kept the shoes and bag neutral by wearing these brown court shoes from New Look, and the clutch from Onyx, an independent Irish bag store in Blackrock shopping centre in south County Dublin.

20121021-152834.jpg

The food by the way was fantastic, and very reasonably priced so if you’re in the area, you should deffo check it out!!

So birthday no2, was for one of my very good friends. We were having it in Whitefriar Grill in the city centre, so I decided to get a little bit more glammed up. Food was fantastic, staff were lovely & apparently the brunch is a must!

I decided on the plain black version of the dress I had bought for another friends birthday in August (the one with pink flamingos on it) from (again) Penneys. Since its now October (nearly November – eeeek) I paired it with tights, and a red belt I had yoinked from another dress.

20121021-152544.jpg

As it was a bit chilly I wore my gorgeous black trench coat from the Savida range from Dunnes Stores. I bought it four years ago & cannot wear it enough. It has gorgeous dark gold lining & stitching, & the back has a kick skirt to give it a more theatrical feel. I love it.

20121021-152653.jpg

I wore it with my shoes that himself bought me for my birthday from High Heels.ie – man who buys you shoes, always a winner! , and this gorgeous red patent clutch from Fran&Jane. I bought the clutch for a wedding last year and have gotten so much use out of it.

20121021-152953.jpg

I kept my jewellery simple with a silver watch, bangle & studs as I had decided to go for a red lippy. I used “frenched” from Benefit, but wasn’t keen on the liner they suggested to go with it – felt it was too dark, so I used one by no7 (15 Fire) and a lip lock of course to keep the colour.

So there you have it, another week, another (couple of) ensemble(s).

‘Til next time……

Tagged , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

