Christmas away from home

So, apologies for not writing more regularly recently – with the lead up to Christmas work was super busy so didn’t have any adventures to write about!

But the family all trouped over to London to spend Christmas with my sister, her husband & in-laws, so I shall be telling you all about what I wore over those 3 days.

Christmas Eve myself, himself, and my other sister travelled to London. I’m not going to lie, I’m a little bit in love with terminal 2 in Dublin airport. It’s so big & spacious, and with zero queue to get through security, it was an absolute dream! Travelling can be very stressful (especially around that time of year) without what your wearing being uncomfortable or making you too warm/cold, so I always go for comfort. What I wore was (from the feet) my deck shoes from Dubarry, my “curve” jeans from Levi’s (discussed them in a previous blog), my 3/4 sleeve printed tee from Lady Umbrella (a brilliant Irish t-shirt company, I have about 5 tees from them, love their graphics) and nude coloured “boyfriend” cardi from Penneys. See comfy! Really need to buy more of those jeans actually…

20130103-190239.jpg

I wore my large statement necklace (mentioned before) and my star earrings (from Roxy) on all three days as they can dress up a casual outfit like the one I travelled in, but work with a more dressed up one as well.

20130103-190829.jpg

20130103-190917.jpg

Christmas Day I like to get a bit more dressed up, so I wore my gorgeous bow shoes from LK Bennett (previously discussed), midi length sleeveless dress from ASOS – love the stretchy fabric (perfect for a day of constant eating) and detailing around the waist, and a white cardi from Monsoon – but any cardi, in any colour will work with a simple outfit like this.

20130103-190435.jpg

I was wearing the statement necklace, & star earrings again, but if I wasn’t, I would pin a large corsage like these or a large sparkly brooch onto the cardi (until I wanted to remove the cardi, then I would pin it onto the dress) just to give it a bit of oomph.

20130103-190546.jpg

Travelling home on St. Stephen’s Day (or Boxing Day, outside Ireland) I wanted to be comfortable as it was an early enough flight & bound to be busy, so I wore my deck shoes & jeans as before, with this striped top & blue ‘boyfriend’ cardi, both from Penneys (as before).

20130103-190643.jpg

Coat wise, I wore my gorgeous smart wine coat from Savida in Dunnes (mentioned in a previous blog) as I knew it would smarten up my casual outfits and look smart with my pretty dress & shoes on Christmas Day too, and used my giant green bag from Fran & Jane (mentioned in a previous blog) so I could throw anything extra (like liquids) that wouldn’t fit into my small wheelie suitcase.

St Stephens day, we were having a second Christmas with himself’s family so while I made a bit of effort it was mainly casual. So I wore this great shirt from Next, I love the alternate colour on the button trim & cuffs. I teamed the shirt with these skinny bootcut jeans from A-Wear and grey heeled court shoes from Penneys. I again wore the star earrings, wine coat & green bag.

20130103-190732.jpg

So I hope everyone had a lovely time with their family & friends over the holiday period, and I will do my best to keep my blogs regular & interesting!

‘Til next time……

Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

