Keeping it local

I’m sure you’ve noticed that I reference a few independent retailers in my clothing blogs, and I just wanted to write a quick note about how I feel about them.

Independent retailers are something that seemed to fall away during the boom years, with massive rents being demanded only the giant companies could afford they became something of the past. But since the, ahem, downturn, I’ve started to notice smaller, newer, quirkier shops popping up all over the place. And I love it! I’m all for the bargains that H&M & Penneys can give you, but quite often (& this has happened to me more than I’d care to admit!) you will wear your awesome new top/dress/skirt/whatever on a night out or to a wedding, and there’ll be more than one person wearing it too!! Not the end of the world I know, but it deffo takes the shine off your purchase! So with an independent you’re more likely to get something a bit different!

There’s also the knowledge & information you’ll get from an independent. Chances are the person you speak to in the shop will be the person who orders & sources all the stock so can point out the advantages of one item over another, or will tell you to hang on because there’s more stock coming in! You will get more attention too. They can focus on you & get you what you want, because they are purely focused on what products they sell. This works for grocery & household (deffo a fan of going to a butcher for my meat, or a small hardware store for bits for the house) as well as clothing. Some of my favourite things have been bought in independent stores because I got the attention and information I wanted from the person in the shop!

Supporting a local shop over a chain does more than give you attention & information, or something different, it’s also supporting people in your community. These people probably live near you, and supporting their business helps keep money in the community by the wages they pay and the money they will then spend in the locality. So shop local, support the independents.

Rant over

*gets off rather tall horse*

‘Til next time……

Tagged , , ,

Leave a Reply

